GeoGebra Pedagogy Workshop

Annoyingly I’ve never been to a GeoGebra workshop; I’ve only presented on GeoGebra and so I don’t know what other presenters are doing/talking about. My feeling – and this could be completely wrong – is that workshops tend to focus more on individual exploration and technical skill rather than pedagogy. There’s obvious reasons for promoting technical skill since it’s important for teachers to develop their own applets and facilitate their students’ use of Geogebra. Doing this however should not be to the detriment of pedagogical use which I believe so often happens when technology is introduced.

Since I’ve recently put a workshop together – for the practical pedagogies event in Toulouse – I thought I’d share it online for two reasons which I explain in Part 1.  I’m sure it’s very much a common sense approach to GeoGebra so nothing especially ground breaking. I hope either you gain something from it, or I do with your comments. Apologies it’s broken up into lots of pieces – videos were too large for a standard vimeo account.

Click this link to go to the video

(Honourable mentions in the workshop: @dannytybrown, @Geogebrain, @mike_geogebra, @mathhombre, @SparksMaths, @tombutton, @a_mcsquared, @ATMMathematics)

Once your done with the main workshop, here’s the link to show how to make an animated Ferris Wheel from the Appendices.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GeoGebra Pedagogy Workshop

  1. Nice workshop with good ideas for other teachers. However, apart from the ideas you mention, dynamic geometry software like GeoGebra also seriously challenges many traditional approaches, for example, the traditional approach in geometry of introducing proof as a means of verification. Since students are (as research shows) naive empiricists, they are very easily convinced of the truth of geometric statements in geometry. Therefore, it is necessary at the introductory level of proof in geometry to instead focus on other more meaningful (to students) functions of proof such as EXPLANATION, DISCOVERY, etc. before one starts with the more subtle aspect of introducing proof as a means of verification and systematization in a dynamic geometry context.

    • Hi Michael, I’m glad you also agree on this. It’s possible that you only saw the first of the five videos because I make this point over an over throughout the entire workshop. Alternatively you may simply be in alignment with what I said in the workshop and are restating the point here. Can I ask you about any particular tasks you like when it comes to joint-understanding and discovery of mathematics through the use of GeoGebra activities?

  2. Neil Dickson says:

    Just finished watching – fantastic work Dan; you have so many great ideas. Well done for posting.

    • Thanks for the comment Neil – obviously I’m already thinking that the workshop could have been much better if I’d simply thought more about the examples and tasks I chose to show and the length of the workshop. I wish that I’d had a run through first so that I wasn’t just chatting along to a presentation but there was more pace and purpose to what I’d said. Anyhow, you live and learn! 🙂

      I’ll continue to follow your blog for more GeoGebra ideas! I was thinking about going to the Intermediate/Advanced Workshop at Sheffield Hallam University on May 14th. If you’re anywhere near the area at that time it would be great to meet up!

Leave a Reply

